Authority Updates - New South Wales - May 2016

NSW Council Amalgamation Begins

The first round of 19 NSW Council Amalgamations began on 12th of May, with a second round of 12 expected to follow, pending the result of litigation over council mergers.

The changes have seen councils either completely merge with others, or spilt into parts and combine with numerous councils. 

What this means for you

As councils gradually merge their business processes, you may find that the responsible authority for a property will change. When this occurs, your ordering process will remain exactly the same in Search Manager. As you move through, you will notice a new authority will be allocated to your order and all pricing, turnaround times and certificate options will update seamlessly. SAI Global will take the guess work out and ensure your application is sent to the right place, while working with the councils to guarantee a smooth change over.

Recent Council Mergers

  • Armidale Regional Council (Armidale, Dumaresq and Guyra)
  • Canterbury-Bankstown Council (Bankstown and Canterbury)
  • Central Coast Council (Gosford and Wyong)
  • City of Parramatta Council (Parramatta and part of Hills, Auburn, Holroyd and Hornsby)
  • Cumberland Council (Auburn and Holroyd)
  • Edward River Council (Conargo and Deniliquin)
  • Federation Council (Corowa and Urana)
  • Georges River Council (Hurstville and Kogarah)
  • Gundagai Council (Cootamundra and Gundagai)
  • Snowy Monaro Regional Council (Bombala, Cooma Monaro and Snowy River)
  • Hilltops Council (Boorowa, Harden and Young)
  • Inner West Council (Ashfield, Leichhardt and Marrickville)
  • Mid-Coast Council (Gloucester, Great Lakes and Greater Taree)
  • Murray River Council (Murray and Wakool)
  • Murrumbidgee Council (Jerilderie and Murrumbidgee)
  • Northern Beaches Council (Manly, Pittwater and Warringah)
  • Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council (Queanbeyan and Palerang)
  • Snowy Valleys Council (Tumut and Tumbarumba)
  • Western Plains Regional Council (Dubbo and Wellington)

Pending Council Mergers 

  • Botany and Rockdale
  • Randwick, Waverley and Woollahra
  • Bathurst and Oberon
  • Ku-ring-gai and Hornsby
  • Mosman, North Sydney and Willoughby
  • Blayney, Cabonne and Orange
  • Hunters Hill, Lane Cove and Ryde
  • Burwood, Canada Bay and Strathfield
  • Shellharbour and Wollongong

Declined Council Mergers 

  • Boorowa and Young Shire councils
  • Cootamundra Shire, Gundagai Shire and Harden Shire councils
  • Corowa Shire, Lockhart Shire, Urana Shire councils
  • Dungog Shire and Gloucester Shire councils
  • Goulburn Mulwaree and Palerang* councils
  • Hawkesbury City and The Hills Shire* councils
  • Jerilderie Shire* and Murrumbidgee Shire councils
  • Kiama Municipal and Shoalhaven City councils
  • Manly, Mosman Municipal and Warringah* councils
  • North Sydney and Willoughby City councils
  • Palerang* and Queanbeyan City councils
  • Pittwater and Warringah* councils
  • Tamworth Regional and Walcha councils

Read more of New South Wales Authority Updates

Disclaimer: The information herein has been prepared by SAI Global Property Division Pty Ltd  ACN 089 586 872 from information released by the Authority cited on this page. It is provided as general background information only; it is not complete; and it does not comprehensively address this subject matter. Readers should not consider the information so provided as advice nor as a recommendation to take any particular course of action. Persons needing advice should consult their own solicitor, accountant or other professional adviser.