Key Benefits

The Key Changes

How it Works

An OHS management system promotes a healthy working environment by providing a framework to identify, control and manage OHS risks and opportunities.

Certification to OHSAS 18001 demonstrates your commitment to your employees' health and safety.

All OHSAS 18001 certified clients will have until the March 11, 2021 to migrate to ISO 45001.

You can migrate during your next:

  • Surveillance audit; or
  • Recertification audit; or
  • At a special audit.
  1.  Undertake a gap analysis to help identify the gaps in your certified OHS management system.
  2.  Update the existing OHS management system to address the new requirements in ISO 45001.
  3.  Ensure all parties are aware of the changes in the management systems processes with an effective communication plan.

Need help identifying the changes between ISO 45001 and OHSAS 18001? Download our Comparison Matrix

  • Your OHSAS 18001 certification will no longer be valid
  • If an audit to ISO 45001 is completed within 6 months past the migration period of 11 March 2021, then a Stage 2 audit will be required.
  • If you don't complete the migration within this 6 month period, you will be treated as a new applicant. A Stage 1 and Stage 2 audit will be required.

1. Getting Started


2. Implement the Standard

  • Contact us to discuss your requirements, timeframes and costs.
  • Review and accept proposal to book audit dates
  • Perform a Gap Analysis


3. Certification

  • Your migration audit can occur during your next Surveillance, Recertification or Scheduled audit.
  • Upon successful certification, display the 'Five Ticks' StandardsMark
  • Contact us today to discuss your migration plan.


Why SAI Global

Speak to an expert to find out more about our solutions