Skip Navigation Links
Supply Chain
Product Certification

Forestry & Chain of Custody Certification Services

Forest Stewardship Council®(FSC®): The FSC's ten Principles and Criteria for forest management set the threshold for defining good forest management around the world. Regional standards must also be developed to reflect local ecological, social and economic factors while adhering to FSC® Principles and Criteria. For this reason, FSC®supports the development of regional standards for use in certification assessments in that region.

Sustainable Forestry Initiative (SFI) is a voluntary forestry standard developed and advanced by the Sustainable Forestry Board. Professional foresters, conservationists and scientists developed this comprehensive system of principles, objectives, performance measures and indicators that combines tree growing and harvesting with long-term protection of wildlife, plants, soil and water quality.

Program for the Endorsement of Forest Certification (PEFC) provides a framework for the development of mutual recognition for national or sub-national forest certification schemes that have been developed locally according to internationally recognized requirements for sustainable forest managements.

Chain of Custody and Labeling: SAI Global conducts chain of custody audits to SFI, PEFC, FSC® and Certfor Standards

CAN/CSA Z809 and CAN/CSA Z804: is the Canadian national sustainable forest management standard, and represents a new era in forest management and accountability. Voluntary registration shows the world that the DFA is being managed according to sustainable forest management principles and criteria.

CERTFOR is the Chilean national standard for sustainable forest management applicable to plantation or natural forest. Certfor has also a standard for chain of custody certification.

View the certificate holder rights and duties here

links to different programs

meet our FORESTRY manager

Sylvain Frappier, Forestry ManagerSAI Global's technical manager for the forestry series of standards. Contact Sylvain via email:

Download the Forestry Whitepaper

Chain of Custody Certification - Choosing the right path.Compare the three main Chain of Custody (CoC) Forestry standards: Sustainable Forestry Initiative (SFI), Forest Stewardship Council® (FSC®), and Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification (PEFC.)